Our Team


Lynn Butler-Kisber, Ed.D.

Founding and Current Editor, LEARNing Landscapes

In addition to her responsibilities as Editor of LEARNing Landscapes, Lynn is a Professor in the Department of Integrated Studies in the Faculty of Education at McGill University. The focus of her work is on literacy learning, student engagement, leadership, professional development, and qualitative methodologies, and she has published and presented extensively in these areas. She is currently working on the second edition of Qualitative Inquiry: Thematic, Narrative and Arts-Based Perspectives, published by Sage. 



Michael Canuel, Ed.D.

Founding and Current Publisher, LEARNing Landscapes

Former English teacher, financial analyst and businessman, Michael Canuel 
has been the Chief Executive Officer of LEARN since its inception. After 
having taught at the high school level for 12 years, he left to take on
 the challenges of the business world where he remained for over 20 years before he took on the responsibilities of bringing together three strong and dynamic organizations to help create what LEARN is today.



Mary Stewart, Ph.D.

Managing Editor, LEARNing Landscapes

Mary has held many literacy and leadership positions since she began teaching over 40 years ago. She has a special interest in qualitative research and arts-based work and has published and presented in these areas. Since its inception in 2007, Mary has been the Managing Editor of the journal.



David Mitchell, B.A.

Copy Editor, LEARNing Landscapes

David has a bachelor’s degree in English literature and philosophy from Concordia University. Since 1997 he has been providing freelance translation, copywriting and editing services to both the private sector and government agencies throughout Quebec. He has copyedited all issues of the journal and first began working with LEARN in 2003.




Editorial Board

Patricia Cordeiro

Rhode Island College

Susan E. Elliott-Johns

Yorkville University

Ruth Leitch

Queen’s University of Belfast

Anne Lessard

Université de Sherbrooke

Shaun Murphy

University of Saskatchewan

Carolyn Sturge Sparkes

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Sean Wiebe

University of Prince Edward Island